MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

LeakyCon: 10 Harry Potter Signed Books Preview

LeakyCon
Posted by: Melissa
April 29, 2009, 02:19 PM

LeakyCon 2009 is around the corner, so here is a sneak preview of that special one-of-a-kind collection of Harry Potter books, donated by Scholastic and signed by J.K. Rowling, that one lucky LeakyCon registrant will win. Here are some pics (you can see them all in our galleries (they are heavily watermarked for security):

 






The books, as you can see, came with security/authenticity tags, and are individually wrapped in bubble paper for safety; they will stay this way until they change hands with their new owner.

We've also put up a video on today's PotterCast Vlogs (it has just gone live, so the HD portion will begin shortly):



Remember that you may only enter to win this set as a registrant at LeakyCon. Register here.




Other important info:

Remember our tickets are selling out fast, and if you're waiting at all now's the time: Register here.

REMINDER: Tickets to ALL of our keynotes are going fast (and keynotes do not clash with ANY other programming: there is no chance that when signing up for one you will miss anything else). Here, again, are the links to our other two terrific panels:

Editors and Authors: Cheryl Klein and John Green - click here to read about it, click here to register.

Nosh with the Nerdfighters - click here to read about it, click here to register.

Q&A with Michael Goldenberg - click here to read, click here to register.

REMINDER ABOUT OUR TWITTER CONTEST: We are extending the Twitter contests for our Keynote presentations. If you twitter the following phrases you or the registrant of your choice (so tell your friends to do it) may win a free ticket to the corresponding keynote. (And do not wait to see if you've won to buy a ticket: if you already have a ticket and you win, we will refund you; the winners will be announced the week before the conference). Copy and paste these into your twitter:

#1:
Michael Goldenberg, screenwriter on HP5, is keynoting @leakycon2009! Go here for details: http://tinyurl.com/d9ba8g - more @leaky!
(don't worry, the first phrase we asked you to use will enter you as well)

#2:
Nerdfighters @leakycon2009! Go here for details: http://tinyurl.com/cd4eb8 - more @leaky!

#3:
Cheryl Klein and John Green on writing @leakycon2009 - go here for details: http://tinyurl.com/cmjk2w - more @leaky!

Thanks and good luck!

Don't forget, the main LeakyCon registration includes:

Welcome Feast
Leaving Feast
The Rocking Charity Ball
THREE enormous wizard rock shows with more than 15 bands performing
All in-conference programming
Vendor Room
Podcasts, including live PotterCast, Spellcast, Spinnerscast and more
Film screenings
And a lot more - an unbelievable value that is unparalleled anywhere. LeakyCon is a charity conference, with all proceeds benefiting Book Aid International and the HP Alliance.

We will see you there!

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent LeakyCon News

83 Comments

Avpm_15_by_cuttlefishbella_thumb
4630 Points

LLLP cries a little right here.

GOD! I want to go so bad and now THESE come??? I would have kept these books open in a glass case and read them knowing JKR held them in her hands!

Posted by Live Laugh Love Potter ♥ROAR♥ on April 29, 2009, 09:58 PM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
2224 Points

OMG…I would kill someone for these books! LoL. Not really, but I’d probably think about it long and hard. HAHA

It would be so amazing to win this set of 10 signed Harry Potter books. I would love to have just ONE of them. :p

Posted by on April 29, 2009, 10:12 PM report to moderator
Photo_1049_thumb
908 Points

Amazing…. yeah, I can’t wait to see the face of the person who wins when they find out. That’s going to be incredible.

Posted by eruanna317 on April 29, 2009, 10:52 PM report to moderator
Ravenclaw_thumb
783 Points

i would honestly kill for those books!!
just to even touch them would be great..
i really really wish i could go :0(
anyone wanna give me a birthday present to leaky con??
along w/ a plane ticket..
& a place to sleep..

Posted by Mary11_hplvr*WBM* on April 29, 2009, 11:18 PM report to moderator
Facebook_avatar_thumb
656 Points

you know that beer commercial with the girls screaming about the closet and the guys screaming (and dancing) about the beer cooler? well i’m screaming (and dancing) about this. so awesome.

Posted by Arithmanceer on April 30, 2009, 12:01 AM report to moderator
Royaltyofnarniaavie3_thumb
190 Points

Wow, just seeing pictures of all these signed books gives me chills :p How special it will be when someone actually owns them!! I so wish I could go to Leakycon… stupid exams!

Posted by lollifant on April 30, 2009, 01:59 AM report to moderator
Order_of_the_phoenix__3__thumb
460 Points

ah i wish i could go!
i live all the way in florida and i have finals coming up… grr!!
good luck to those can actually attend though! it would be amazing to win this set, i know i would cry lol… but again, good luck guys!

Posted by kingdom on April 30, 2009, 02:30 AM report to moderator
My_avatar_thumb
149 Points

Wow lucky Leakyconners to have a chance to own those books!

Posted by SnapesSilverDoe on April 30, 2009, 03:34 AM report to moderator
Ben_thumb
63 Points

Is there any verbage preventing the winner auctioning these off for charity?

Posted by BenjaminAllen on April 30, 2009, 04:08 AM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
1812 Points

omg i wan them!!!!!!!!!!! please please do the same thing for leakycon 2011 jo!!!

Posted by Freya-Storm on April 30, 2009, 05:48 AM report to moderator
Rh7_thumb
1046 Points

wow they look awesome!

Posted by bec majec *roar* on April 30, 2009, 06:00 AM report to moderator
5_thumb
208 Points

It’s so beautiful!

Posted by hopkinsdancr22 on April 30, 2009, 07:46 AM report to moderator
Dscn0756-1_thumb
951 Points

This is really exciting. I’m glad everyone (at the con) will have a chance for them!

Posted by Shane [WBM] on April 30, 2009, 07:51 AM report to moderator
Puff_thumb
680 Points

I’m drooling over those books. The whole thing is just amazing! Thank You JK and congrats to whoever wins them!

Posted by KimmyBlair on April 30, 2009, 09:51 AM report to moderator
Me_and_james_going_to_school_thumb
2963 Points

i often wonder that if i, a 45 yr old man was to approach JKR with full hogwarts uniform and robes with a full set of hard back books, would she be willing to just sign them and think nothing of the scene.

Posted by prof mewthree "squee" on April 30, 2009, 10:57 AM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps

Guess That Book

"Met [Ginny] jus' yesterday... I reckon she was hopin' she might run inter someone else at my house." He winked at Harry. "If yeh ask me, [i]she[/i] wouldn' say no ter a signed --"[br]"Oh, shut up," said Harry. Ron snorted with laughter and the ground was

Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Aug. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!