MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

Half-Blood Prince Game Released, Reviews and Game Clips Now Online

HBP Film
Posted by: sue
June 30, 2009, 02:15 PM

Attention fans! The Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince video game is now available here in the US. As such a few reviews are now online, notably from IGN which gives mixed marks for the various platforms of the game (very low to the DS, fairly good to PS3, XBox360). While there are plenty of spoilers in the articles, the reviewer for the PS3 points out:

"If you've read the books, you know what those bad things are, and if you haven't, this game really isn't going to explain what's going on. See, rather than have you play through the events of the movie, Half-Blood Prince just kind of uses them as touchstones. Sure, you'll participate in the big battles and see videogame cutscenes depicting key moments, but these events won't really be properly explained nor will they carry the appropriate impact. You're not here to play the movie; you're here to live in the movie's universe...the story-related stuff can be polished off in about four or five hours, but there's going to be a lot left to do for Harry Potter nuts or people who are Trophy/Achievement whores (see: me). See, the game has 150 Hogwarts crests hidden throughout the school...this ability to explore also rewards you with seeing things you never would've if you just played the game strictly by the numbers. Although there's no reason to do it in terms of the game's tale, you can go into the Charms classroom and see Flitwick as well as climb high into the Owlery. Locations such as these don't serve a purpose other than a dose of fan service and I'm all about that.

Be sure to check out a whole host of videos showing game excerpts via this link. The Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince now available at game retailers here in the US everywhere.

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent HBP Film News

27 Comments

Hpsssorting_thumb
398 Points

The game looks good. A bit disappointing there’s not much story in it. Hopefully it will bring me some entertainment tomorrow.

Posted by TheSortingHat[ROAR] on July 01, 2009, 01:34 PM report to moderator
Hpsssorting_thumb
398 Points

The game looks good. A bit disappointing there’s not much story in it. Hopefully it will bring me some entertainment tomorrow.

Posted by TheSortingHat[ROAR] on July 01, 2009, 01:35 PM report to moderator
Hpsssorting_thumb
398 Points

The game looks good. A bit disappointing there’s not much story in it. Hopefully it will bring me some entertainment tomorrow.

Posted by TheSortingHat[ROAR] on July 01, 2009, 01:39 PM report to moderator
Hpsssorting_thumb
398 Points

The game looks good. A bit disappointing there’s not much story in it. Hopefully it will bring me some entertainment tomorrow.

Posted by TheSortingHat[ROAR] on July 01, 2009, 01:39 PM report to moderator
Hpsssorting_thumb
398 Points

The game looks good. A bit disappointing there’s not much story in it. Hopefully it will bring me some entertainment tomorrow.

Posted by TheSortingHat[ROAR] on July 01, 2009, 01:41 PM report to moderator
Capture10_thumb
16258 Points

i got my PS2 version this morning for $30. Ive already beat the entire game and its awesome.

Posted by Gryffindor1991 {ROAR!!!} on July 01, 2009, 03:25 PM report to moderator
The_one__colored_by_burdge_bug_thumb
7475 Points

well i got the game yesterday and it’s pretty good.
I kind of OOTP more…but quidditch is way better
my solution…put quidditch in ootp and problem solved hahaha

Posted by Luce-Lupin !~ROAR~! on July 01, 2009, 03:38 PM report to moderator
Puppet_pals_yes_thumb
3238 Points

When we get to target, I’m so getting it.

Posted by phoenixes are in ravenclaw on July 01, 2009, 03:49 PM report to moderator
Rupes_maggie_thumb
24135 Points

very cool

Posted by hermyone*ROAR* on July 02, 2009, 12:48 AM report to moderator
Im-with-stupid_thumb
50 Points

I’ve played this game on my wii, and it is really great. I’m dissapointed with a few things though… like the ending of the narriation. The cave scene was dreadful because you don’t really get to do anything. after you know who dies I would of figured there would be battles everywhere and the Order and DA would be fighting… but the castle is empty and after quick battles (srsly, you get so many duel health it’s barely a duel….) it’s over. Funny parts, most definitly, but disappointing — not worth the 60 bucks

Posted by Sammeh on July 02, 2009, 12:41 PM report to moderator
Ronhermione_thumb
4452 Points

im gonna buy it soooooon!!!!!

Noavatar-thumb

I’m stuck on the DS version. Just. Stuck. Yes squillions of rnadom Hogwartians, i know some Hufflepuff in the Hospital Wing as the self stirring cauldron ORn wants me to get his dad for Christmas. i know that. She wants a potion for it yet none of you imbeciles will tell me how to get the potion or an of the ingredients to make it!

Stupid little fake people in the little fake game :P

Oh well … at least I figured out how to play Quidditch!

Posted by Kezzabear on July 05, 2009, 04:16 AM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps

Guess That Book

"Was [James] playing with the Snitch?" said Lupin eagerly.[br]"Yeah," said Harry, watching uncomprehendingly as Sirius and Lupin beamed reminiscently. "Well... I thought he was a bit of an idiot."[br]"Of course he was a bit of an idiot!" said Sirius braci

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Aug. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!
Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!