MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

Recap: Wizarding World of Harry Potter Celebrity Preview Concludes, HP Cast Reveals Hogwarts (Updated with Photos)

Fans
Posted by: Edward
June 17, 2010, 10:00 AM

Due to technical difficulties, here is our earlier recap of the events from the first part of the Wizarding World of Harry Potter grand opening.  Last evening, actors Dan Radcliffe (Harry Potter), Rupert Grint (Ron Weasley), Michael Gambon (Professor Dumbledore), Matt Lewis (Neville Longbottom), Tom Felton (Draco Malfoy), James and Oliver Phelps (Fred and George Weasley), and Warwick Davis (Flitwick), as well as Harry Potter author J. K. Rowling walked down the red carpet into the theme park for the Celebrity Preview.  Our previous coverage can be found here and here.


Here now is a brief recap of the opening ceremonies.  Leaky's full report is due shortly.
  • Actor Warwick Davis conducts the Frog Choir of Hogwarts, complete with animatronic frogs, who perform "The Hogwarts March" and "Double Trouble."     
  • Chairman and CEO of Universal Parks speaks and introduces Ron Meyer, the President and COO of Universal Studios.
  • Barry Meyer, Chairman and CEO of WB speaks.     
  • John Williams conducts the Orlando Philharmonic Orchestra in rendition of "Harry's Wondrous World."     
  • The Knight Bus pulls into the park, dropping off actors Michael Gambon, Tom Felton, Matt Lewis, James Phelps, Oliver Phelps, and Bonnie Wright.     
  • Seconds later, the Weasley Car appears and drops off Rupert Grint and Dan Radcliffe.     
  • Dan Radcliffe speaks, leads the audience in casting the Lumos spell to reveal the Hogwarts Castle.     
  • Firework and light show follows, accompanied by clips from the film projected onto the the foundation walls of Hogwarts.
The first round of photos is now online, and can be found here in our Leaky Galleries.  Photos include:









Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent Fans News

27 Comments

Movies_ootp_premieries_imax_001_thumb
5371 Points

First! Thats awesome. I just cant describe it in words. OMG

Posted by Azaad Potter The Chosen One [ROAR] on June 17, 2010, 10:39 AM report to moderator
Hogwarts03_thumb
348 Points

Great pics! Hope the cast enjoyed it!!

Posted by IwishIwas@Hogwarts on June 17, 2010, 10:48 AM report to moderator
F_g_thumb
901 Points

awesome :PP

Posted by FREDWEASLEY ♥ on June 17, 2010, 10:50 AM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
660 Points

I loved when Dan and Rupert arrived in the Ford Anglia!!!! Even better than arriving by The Knight Bus!

Posted by Noble Birth Descending on June 17, 2010, 11:53 AM report to moderator
Biker_old_lady4done_use_thumb
1884 Points

Michael looks tired.

Posted by Cool G on June 17, 2010, 12:04 PM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
39 Points

My first post ! …….. looked at the pics – great ! ….but …..erm, as a rubbish Divination student, I reached for my crystal ball – is JK pregnant ? – or has she eaten too many pumpkin pasties ???

Posted by Prof Thicky on June 17, 2010, 12:18 PM report to moderator
Img_0211__2__thumb

Looks like fun – but boy – those English sure don’t know how to dress for a Florida summer! Bonnie and J.K. Rowling are the only ones properly prepared for the weather. Dan and Tom look so sweaty – but even so – Dan looks good in these photos. He looks so much better in these natural shots than those stylized fashion shoots. Ah well – you Floridians are a hearty bunch – I’ll take my frigid Boston winters over your summer heat any day!

Posted by sueml on June 17, 2010, 12:30 PM report to moderator
Ginnya10_thumb
164 Points

its awesome
wanna go there

Posted by nutela17 on June 17, 2010, 12:30 PM report to moderator
Ronhermione_thumb
4452 Points

Oh wow! I would LOVE to be there :) x

Xz5jc2nr_thumb
22037 Points

AWESOME!!! But why Emma wasn’t there???

Noavatar-thumb
39 Points

Agree with Diamond Wings – why wasn’t Emma there ???

Posted by Prof Thicky on June 17, 2010, 12:59 PM report to moderator
Wand_thumb
4852 Points

Emma was not there probably because she is in university and it is exam time. I love Jo’s necklace!

Posted by #1 Witch ROAR! on June 17, 2010, 01:23 PM report to moderator
Hpdh_thumb
3777 Points

bonnie is a total babe and jo is a boss

Posted by ZachBlack [ROAR] on June 17, 2010, 01:36 PM report to moderator
I-quote_hogwarts0144_thumb
3987 Points

OMG I wish I could have seen this and been there.

Posted by BewareoftheNargles {WBM} on June 17, 2010, 01:37 PM report to moderator
20121227075238822000_thumb
11265 Points

Bonnie Doesnt look like herself!

Posted by MossHorpione on June 17, 2010, 01:37 PM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps
Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!

Guess That Book

They were standing on the edge of a huge chessboard, behind the black chessmen, which were all taller than they were and carved from what looked like black stone. Facing them, way across the chamber, were the white pieces. Harry, Ron and Hermione shivered

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Apr. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!