MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

Leaky Review: "Dear Mr. Potter"

Leaky
Posted by: Edward
June 11, 2011, 04:34 PM

This week, Leaky was lucky enough to review the upcoming book: Dear Mr. Potter: Letters of Love, Loss, and Magic.  Here is our first look at the book, which is available to pre-order and will be on sale at LeakyCon 2011 this July in Orlando, Florida.

It can be difficult, sometimes, to visualize just how widespread the connection of the Harry Potter series has been-- and continues to be-- across the world.  However, while reading Dear Mr. Potter, the image Harry Potter fans from across all ages, sexes, nationalities, and backgrounds each connecting with the not only the series, but each other, becomes clearer than ever.
Dear Mr. Potter shares the oftentimes emotional stories from fans who have been touched by the story of Harry Potter.  This 223 page book contains hundreds of letters, memories, and photos from our shared experience as fans of these books.  The collection of letters comes from fans across the world, as well as actress Evanna Lynch (Luna Lovegood), HP Alliance's Andrew Slack, authors John Green and Melissa Anelli, wizard rocker Paul DeGeorge, and Mugglenet's Andrew Sims.  Each letter, however, comes from the same place.
One particularly touching realization which occurred to me while reading this book was that many who submitted letters to this project, first read the series at the same time I read the books.  We were connected then, before any of us even knew it.  We grew up together.  We learned and changed and grew as one-- as Harry Potter fans.  This history is explored and shared throughout the book and makes it that much more special.
Letters also speak of what is to come.  Many letters share how the story of Harry Potter changed lives in such a way that J. K. Rowling's story inspired them to find and follow new paths in life.  Together, Dear Mr. Potter truly showcases how J. K. Rowling's story touched as all.  It made this community possible by giving us the seed and nourishment from which we could grow.  I would highly recommend this book both as a way to further connect with one and other and to look back at the impact Harry Potter has had on all of our lives these past twelve years.
Proceeds from Dear Mr. Potter benefit the HP Alliance.  More information about the book can be found via this link.

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent Leaky News

33 Comments

Fwooper1_thumb
317 Points

RubeusHagrid: It is awful that some people decide to destroy themselves and others by abusing drugs. I am glad that Rowling and Harry and Hagrid gave you the courage to carry on. It can be healing to live in your own world for some time. It is highly admirable that you found the strength within you to confide in your Mother – and that your Mother thought of you above everyone else and ended her abusive relationship. You have a great Mum – I wish you all the best and that you are surrounded by good people only for the rest of your life. (And to have some feline support can’t hurt either :)

Posted by siena on June 12, 2011, 12:32 PM report to moderator
Harry_potter_seal_thumb
1466 Points

I can’t wait to buy it!

Posted by Jacket on June 12, 2011, 01:12 PM report to moderator
Naughty_galaxy_thumb
28416 Points

@RubeusHagrid, thank you for sharing your story with us, I’m so glad that Harry Potter was such a positive thing for you in such difficult times and very pleased that those terrible times are behind you and that you are now so happy. It’s a very inspiring story, and brave of you to speak about it.

Posted by moglet [ITC!] on June 12, 2011, 03:03 PM report to moderator
Escudo20ravenclaw__1__thumb
346 Points

I would love to have this book!

Posted by cloethebelatrixlover on June 12, 2011, 03:07 PM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
10471 Points

This is great! But I really would like to read it for myself! =]

Posted by . on June 12, 2011, 04:28 PM report to moderator
Ameliaaa_thumb
338 Points

I am so getting one of these books. I really would like to write a long thing about how much I love but I can’t even put it into words gah :) I really would have loved to have my story in this book I wrote called “Five Years” talking about the five years I have known Harry and how much he has influenced my life… I can’t wait to read this book!!!

Posted by Like a Name in a Fairytale{ROAR} on June 12, 2011, 06:22 PM report to moderator
Ameliaaa_thumb
338 Points

I am so getting one of these books. I really would like to write a long thing about how much I love but I can’t even put it into words gah :) I really would have loved to have my story in this book I wrote called “Five Years” talking about the five years I have known Harry and how much he has influenced my life… I can’t wait to read this book!!!

Posted by Like a Name in a Fairytale{ROAR} on June 12, 2011, 06:22 PM report to moderator
Ameliaaa_thumb
338 Points

I am so getting one of these books. I really would like to write a long thing about how much I love but I can’t even put it into words gah :) I really would have loved to have my story in this book I wrote called “Five Years” talking about the five years I have known Harry and how much he has influenced my life… I can’t wait to read this book!!!

Posted by Like a Name in a Fairytale{ROAR} on June 12, 2011, 06:22 PM report to moderator
Wand_thumb
4852 Points

Wow! It sounds like an amazing book! i can’t wait to read it! And geez, RubeusHagrid! Thats an amazing story! Thank you for sharing it! It just goes to show you how much one woman can impact people!

Posted by #1 Witch ROAR! on June 12, 2011, 08:24 PM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
118 Points

I liked the comment by eccentricalice that JKR has created an amazing world to which we can escape when things get rough. My husband had physical disabilities and Alzheimer’s disease, and when he fell asleep in the afternoon, I would sit beside him on the sofa and escape to that world in the Harry Potter books.

Posted by SybilT on June 12, 2011, 09:10 PM report to moderator
Tonks_thumb
349 Points

SO EXCITED FOR THIS BOOK!!! ONLY 19 MORE DAYS TILL IT SHIPS!!!

Posted by sboyer06 on June 12, 2011, 10:24 PM report to moderator
Pb250023_thumb
104 Points

cant wait for this book!!!!

Posted by maldonado #44 on June 12, 2011, 10:40 PM report to moderator
Thank_you_thumb
1527 Points

I can’t wait to read this book because it shows the incredible way that one series has brought us all together, and has given us fresh new hope and dreams. Harry Potter has been my one love for a very long time and I never intend to let it end. It has changed my life so much, been my only friend for so long and this book is going to showcase the emotion that we all feel as we reach the final release.

Posted by Livi22-((ROAR!)) on June 13, 2011, 03:43 AM report to moderator
Ginny_weasley_thumb
146 Points

Love to get this book-we need memos of HP

December_loadoff_087_thumb
1642 Points

Wonder if I need to buy it .. Liked the reviews

Posted by Bella'love ^HISS^ on June 13, 2011, 04:52 PM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps
Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Jul. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!

Guess That Book

"Now, I must warn you that the most stringent Anti-Cheating Charms have been applied to your examination papers. Auto-Answer Quills are banned from the examination hall, as are Remembralls, Detachable Cribbing Cuffs, and Self-Correcting Ink."