MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

Leaky's Pottermore First Impressions Live Blog and Review

J.K. Rowling
Posted by: Edward
August 18, 2011, 10:15 AM

This morning, Leaky was lucky enough to gain early beta access to Pottermore, J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter online reading experience.  As I go through the process of exploring Pottermore, this post will live blog my latest reactions, experiences, and discoveries.  Those who wish to wait to experience Pottermore for themselves please do read with caution as this post will contain details on the process and moments from the online experience.  A full review of Pottermore is due shortly.  Enjoy!


Live Updates:
  • Even after the first few pages and tutorials, you can tell just how much detail and how many things there are to do in Pottermore.  You can zoom in and out, up and down to find clues and info.
  • Privet Drive contains so many little elements from the story in just one image.
  • Click everything! :) 
  • Pottermore follows the story in such a way that you are introduced to places, characters, objects, etc. as they become important in the story. 
  • Even after a few days, the drawings and comments for moments and parts of the story are very high quality.   
  • Shooting stars and put-outers! 
  • Determined to transform the cat into McGonagall (I don't know if they even do that!). 
  • Friend and nicknames is a great feature.  Gives a little breakdown of their house.  Hope to run into them in the hallways :) 
  • Character bios seem to start very basic and then expand as you get deeper into the story. 
  • Four moments in Chapter 1. Now for chapter 2! 
  • Little lock images appear over red quills indicating you haven't yet unlocked the special new JKR content on the site. 
  • Electric meter numbers?  In Harry's cupboard?
  • Still can't get over the detail.  In the zoo, lights flickering, reptiles slithering around, the glass disappearing.  
  • Another great feature: You can see when your friends are in the same chapter as you. 
  • So many objects to collect for your trunk.  Very interested to see how these things add up.
  • Loving how Pottermore puts you in the story but lets you imagine the characters and moments as you remember them while reading the books.
  • Going shopping for school supplies! Never had this much fun doing this ever before. 
  • Do I want a cat a toad or an owl? 
  • A Brown Owl, it is! 
  • WAND time! 
  • The wand chooses you, of course.  Asked a series of questions about yourself.  Some are difficult to decide upon! 
  • My wand: Hawthorn with Unicorn Hair, thirteen and three quarter inches, surprisingly swishy. 
  • The detail about Mr. Ollivander is among the most fascinating yet. 
  • I wonder, if one buys a Rememberall, will it light up when you've forgotten something in the story? 
  • Even if we don't see the character in the Pottermore moment, if they were featured or introduced in the chapter se get a short bio about them. 
  • Made it to Hogwarts, now for the Sorting Hat. 
  • Lovely video from Jo pops up to speak more about the sorting ceremony. 
  • Sorting questions are HARD! 
  • Well, I have a new house. I'm a Slytherin. 
  • Have now unlocked the Common Room, Great Hall and a number of other features 
  • Exploring the Potions area.  Seeing what I can make. 
  • Should say: always considered myself a Ravenclaw.  Slytherclaw? 
  • Potions is as precise as it is in the books.   Takes skill and patience.  Great experience, perhaps soon I'll get one right!

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent J.K. Rowling News

102 Comments

Noavatar-thumb
10471 Points

I knew Pottermore wouldn’t disappoint! Now, where’s my welcome email to prove it to me? (:

Posted by . on August 18, 2011, 03:29 PM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb

day four quill…. still waiting!

Posted by ghostdust37 on August 18, 2011, 03:36 PM report to moderator
018734281a3970190750b972929570l_normal_thumb
2408 Points

@Jessica Ann e-owl: I love it! I’m genuinely worried about the sorting now. I’ve so much Ravenclaw stuff and I’m pretty sure I’m not going to get in. I think my true heart may lie in Slytherin

Posted by KiwiMcI on August 18, 2011, 03:56 PM report to moderator
Neville_god_pic_thumb
838 Points

I was screaming when I read this. Edward was on the episode of Pottercast where he spoiled part one, right? I remember they called his Bootleg Edward.

Posted by Tanderule on August 18, 2011, 04:48 PM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
148 Points

I’m the same as Edward. I always considered myself a Ravenclaw and was sorted into Slytherin. I still like to think of myself as a Ravenclaw at heart, Slytherin on Pottermore kind of thing. It takes some getting used to, that’s for sure. And potions is really difficult. I think I messed up six potions before I got one right.

Posted by Elena on August 18, 2011, 05:19 PM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
872 Points

I really can’t wait! I’m especially looking forward to the sorting and Ollivander’s. I’ve always been split between if I am a Gryffindor of Slytherin; I guess this’ll decide!

Posted by Heavenly_Horcrux on August 18, 2011, 05:31 PM report to moderator
315475_491136950901884_1807119504_n_thumb
10050 Points

i cant wait until i get my e-owl but it will probably b a while bc i was day 7
(im realy nevous 4 the sorting)

Posted by athena lupin on August 18, 2011, 05:37 PM report to moderator
Shaw__4__thumb
321 Points

I want one. :(

Posted by HogwartsForever on August 18, 2011, 06:34 PM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb

…still no e-Owl…oh Boo Hoo! Silently weeping into crossed arms….

Posted by muggle1963 on August 18, 2011, 09:45 PM report to moderator
Daniel-radcliff-how-to-succeed1-240x300_normal_thumb
683 Points

AMAZING!!!! I want my account open now!!!
cannot wait.!
I still enjoying leaky anyway!!
:D

Posted by HalfbloodPrince08 on August 18, 2011, 10:03 PM report to moderator
Vanishing_cabinet_thumb
1636 Points

These comments make me happy. :D I was worried that I’d get into Ravenclaw (because that’s where I thought I’d be if I were sorted in real life…not saying I don’t like Ravenclaw, it’s my second choice!), but seeing as Ravenclaws are getting Slytherin, that’s great news.

I also heard from a local Slytherin that there aren’t as many Slythies running around Pottermore than other houses, but apparently holding their weight considerably in house cup points! :D

Posted by Sara Greengrass (S Palms) on August 18, 2011, 10:36 PM report to moderator
423928_2979823569581_1081661667_32966780_333709726_n_thumb
748 Points

That’s why I love you, Leaky!

Posted by Gene *ROAR* on August 19, 2011, 01:46 AM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
29 Points

Brewing a potion takes time and skill. I’ve only been able to brew 1 potion correctly. How can we collect more house points? Some have already collected thousands of house points.

Posted by Halcyone Puddlemere on August 19, 2011, 01:56 AM report to moderator
Kairi_icon_thumb
38 Points

I’m SO excited for this! I quite literally CANNOT wait for my Welcome Letter! I usually can’t stand spoilers, but I couldn’t help myself, I just had to look! :)

Posted by HalfBlood Badger on August 19, 2011, 04:29 AM report to moderator
Logo150nobrain_thumb
144 Points

Have just finished. Wow! Don’t worry, the wait is worth it, and you may well get a smoother experience. Please, avoid spoilers! Enjoy it all for yourself. I’m saying nothing apart from “Redwood and Unicorn, Fourteen and a Half inches, Brittle – Ravenclaw”. Not arguing with any of that! One tip, it is quite deep in places, take your time – you only get the once chance to make that first journey. And thanks to everyone concerned, the attention to detail shows, rather like the films, especially the last one.
A happy student.

Posted by zonkoltd on August 19, 2011, 08:30 AM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps

Guess That Book

It was extremely crowded, noisy, warm, and smoky. A curvy sort of woman with a pretty face was serving a bunch of rowdy warlocks up at the bar.[br]"That's Madam Rosmerta," said Ron. "I'll get the drinks, shall I?" he added, going slightly red.

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Aug. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!
Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!