MyLeaky Login

Join the largest Harry Potter Social Network on the Web! | FAQ

In the News

Early Review of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince Now Online

HBP Film
Posted by: sue
June 27, 2009, 02:50 AM

A staffer at Hollywood.com attended an earlyl screening today of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince and has now posted his review online. A very positive review, the author even titles the piece "Mr. Potter, Meet Mr. Oscar." The reviewer writes he was not a huge fan of the series before, however now:
  "stand back because now the Potter-loving beast in me has been unleashed after having witnessed a film that was not only exquisite in its production values, but was also charming, funny, scary, enchanting, moving (stop me, the adjectives could go on and on) and dare I say, sexy. Brilliantly directed by David Yates (he directed 2007’s Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix), Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince is a tour-de-force that combines style and substance, special effects and heart and most importantly great performances from all of the actors young and not-so-young.

Daniel Radcliffe, Harry Potter himself, has evolved into a really fine young actor who gives the film its emotional core. However, if Radcliffe is the heart, Michael Gambon is the film’s soul as Albus Dumbledore; Gambon gives a powerfully subtle performance as the de-facto father figure to young Mr. Potter. Of course, the always great Alan Rickman gives another menacingly creepy and memorable turn as the evil and duplicitous Severus Snape. The cinematography, music, set design and costumes are all amazing, and the film has a truly rich look to it reminiscent of the best of the old-school Hollywood epics.

Previous Article | Next Article Browse all Recent HBP Film News

40 Comments

Puppet_pals_yes_thumb
3238 Points

Congratulations, cast and crew!! And a congrats to David Yates!! Can’t wait to see it!

Posted by phoenixes are in ravenclaw on June 27, 2009, 05:45 PM report to moderator
687ygt865tgbi8_thumb
161 Points

i cant wait!

Posted by RavenclawGal14 on June 27, 2009, 05:46 PM report to moderator
Rupes_maggie_thumb
24135 Points

oh good, i’m glad that it’s so positive! :)

Posted by hermyone*ROAR* on June 27, 2009, 08:55 PM report to moderator
Ron1_thumb
3703 Points

This makes me even more excited for HBP! =) 17 days…

Posted by Christine on June 27, 2009, 09:15 PM report to moderator
Noavatar-thumb
6921 Points

Sounds good. Glad that the people who have actually seen it say that it’s good.

Posted by badger666 on June 27, 2009, 09:49 PM report to moderator
Pic_thumb
113 Points

omg yay! Im soooo excited to see it! Wooo! :D

Posted by Phoebe of Gryffindor on June 27, 2009, 10:20 PM report to moderator
Pheonix2_thumb
186 Points

So it begins.

I believe it’s time for me to start blinding myself from all the reviews and new sneak peaks, so that I may enjoy the actual show=P

Posted by Liderc on June 28, 2009, 05:20 AM report to moderator
Images_thumb
523 Points

Squeeeee! Only 19 days. Wow! Fabulous review. I would love HBP to get nominated for something other than set decoration. Squeeee! Runs frantically in a circle

Posted by Rhiannon on June 28, 2009, 05:23 AM report to moderator
Raven_avatar_thumb
80435 Points

Well, I sure am glad to hear that!

Posted by Won_Two on June 28, 2009, 05:25 AM report to moderator
Leakypic_thumb
177 Points

Um, how about details of what’s in, what’s out? Specifics are needed!

Posted by DylanAqua on June 28, 2009, 05:26 AM report to moderator
Tumblr_lnohl1j5ya1qenanjo1_500_thumb
2525 Points

OHHHH only 17 more days to go!!!

Posted by The Nerd on June 28, 2009, 05:29 AM report to moderator
Electric_guitar_thumb
943 Points

Sounds like nothing new… we knew it would be great!

Posted by Lloyd on June 28, 2009, 05:29 AM report to moderator
Hermione_thumb
2182 Points

Hopefully I like it that much!

Posted by The Half-Blood Princess on June 28, 2009, 05:34 AM report to moderator
Death_eater_thumb
221 Points

I agree with Liderc. I think this is the one and only review I will read. I am glad it was a glowing review however!

Posted by Max Power on June 28, 2009, 05:41 AM report to moderator
Iconator_77bb337efe9e8c2f9da191f0c527a9f4_thumb
121 Points

can’t wait!

Posted by Great Uncle Algie on June 28, 2009, 05:50 AM report to moderator
You must be logged in to MyLeaky to comment. Please click here to log in.

Finding Hogwarts
PotterCast Interviews Jo Rowling! Click here to Listen! The Books Everything...Half-Blood Prince...and the rest of the HP Films Leaky Apps

Scribbulus Essay Project

Issue 28 - Aug. 2014

Scribbulus is THE place for Leaky Cauldron readers to submit their essays and opinion pieces!
See more over at Scribbulus!
Learn to knit your own 'Weasley Sweater'. Learn to brew your own 'Butterbeer'. Find out how at Leaky Crafts!

Guess That Book

"Master, we crave to know... we beg you to tell us... how you have achieved this... this miracle... how you managed to return to us..."